Our sensor

Nature shows us the way, the sensor shows us the progress - a symbiosis that follows the growth of spirulina in the tank in harmony with the principles of technology.

Thriving Green

Our technical team has developed a sensor to facilitate the cultivation of spirulina and other (micro)organisms. Its task is to monitor various water parameters in the breeding tanks and thus provide helpful information for the harvesting and cultivation process.
The following parameters are measured:

Water temperature

Every (micro)organism, including spirulina, has a growth optimum, i.e. a temperature at which it grows best. In our system, the temperature sensor is installed in the OD sensor ("optical density").

Concentration of (micro)organisms in the pool

Absorption measurements with the OD sensor can be used to determine the concentration of (micro)organisms in the tank and thus the ideal harvesting time. Spirulina, for example, multiplies exponentially until a certain density is reached and growth reaches a plateau phase. The best time to harvest is just before the end of the exponential phase, so that it never comes to a standstill. This point in time can be determined by means of absorption measurement. It is also important to prevent overpopulation so that there are enough nutrients for everyone.

Impurities

Changes in absorption behavior can also be detected using the OD sensors and indicate impurities in the breeding tanks. The sensor helps to detect them at an early stage and then combat them. Three components are required in the sensor to measure the optical density: A light source, a light detector and a temperature sensor for temperature compensation of the detector.

Dissolved oxygen

The amount of oxygen in the breeding tanks is another parameter for monitoring growth. Spirulina, for example, produces oxygen. A lack of oxygen in the tank is therefore an indication of inhibited/stopped growth. The dissolved oxygen is measured with the DO electrode ("Dissolved Oxygen").

Conductivity

We can check the salt content in the pools using conductivity measurements with the EC electrode ("Electrical Conductivity"). Spirulina, as well as other (micro)organisms, have a preferred environment in which to grow. The appropriate environment is created and constantly monitored by adding fertilizers.

pH value

Salts are not only relevant nutrients for the (micro)organisms, but also change the pH value of the water. This is also crucial for growth. Some (micro)organisms such as Spriulina prefer an alkaline environment (pH value 9-11), whereas others grow in an acidic environment (pH value <7). The pH value is measured with the pH electrode.

Electronics

Solar panel

Solar panel

Floating body

Floating body

EC electrode

DO Electrode

pH electrode

OD Sensor

OD Sensor

The technology

The sensor weighs around 500g and is powered by lithium batteries that are recharged via solar panels. This innovative power supply ensures a continuous energy supply. Our sensor is an IoT (“Internet of Things”) multi-sensor platform. This enables us to exchange data between the sensor and our servers, provided WLAN is available.

In January 2023, we were guests of our partner Viride in Western Sahara. There we tested the sensor for the first time in an algae tank for a longer period of time! You can find out more in the corresponding blog article.

Our technical team is motivated to constantly develop the sensor further.
If you would like to find out more (technical) details about our sensor, please contact our technical team!

Platine

Battery holder

µController & WiFi module

OD sensors connection

EC sensor connection

pH sensor connection

DO sensor connection

IMG_0384
IMG_0286
IMG_0257

Unser Sensor

Die Natur gibt den Weg vor, der Sensor zeigt den Fortschritt an – eine Symbiose, die das Wachstum von Spirulina im Becken in Harmonie mit den Prinzipien der Technologie verfolgt.

Thriving Green

Um den Anbau von Spirulina und anderen (Mikro)organismen zu erleichtern hat unser Technikteam einen Sensor entwickelt. Seine Aufgabe ist es, verschiedene Wasserparameter in den Zuchtbecken zu überwachen und dadurch hilfreiche Hinweise für den Ernte- und Anbauprozess zu liefern.
Folgende Parameter werden gemessen:

Wassertemperatur

Jeder (Mikro)organismus, darunter auch Spirulina, hat ein Wachstumsoptimum, also eine Temperatur, bei der er am besten wächst. Der Temperaturfühler ist in unserem System im OD-Sensor ("Optical Density", optische Dichte) verbaut.

Konzentration der (Mikro)organismen im Becken

Durch Absorptionsmessungen mit dem OD-Sensor kann die Konzentration der (Mikro)organismen im Becken und dadurch der ideale Erntezeitpunkt bestimmt werden. Spirulina beispielsweise vermehrt sich exponentiell, bis eine gewisse Dichte erreicht ist und das Wachstum eine Plateauphase erreicht. Der beste Erntezeitpunkt ist kurz vor Ende der exponentiellen Phase, sodass diese nie zum Erliegen kommt. Dieser Zeitpunkt kann mittels der Absorptionsmessung bestimmt werden. Auch gilt es, eine Überpopulation zu verhindern, sodass genug Nährstoffe für alle vorhanden sind.

Verunreinigungen

Veränderungen im Absorptionsverhalten können auch mittels der OD-Sensoren festgestellt werden und deuten auf Verunreinigungen in den Zuchtbecken hin. Der Sensor hilft dabei, diese frühzeitig entdecken und dann bekämpfen zu können. Zur Messung der optischen Dichte benötigt werden drei Komponenten im Sensor benötigt: Eine Lichtquelle, ein Lichtdetektor und ein Temperaturfühler zur Temperaturkompensation des Detektors.

Gelöster Sauerstoff

Die Menge an Sauerstoff in den Zuchtbecken ist ein weiterer Parameter, um das Wachstum zu überprüfen. Spirulina, beispielsweise, produziert Sauerstoff. Somit ist ein Mangel an Sauerstoff im Becken ein Hinweis auf ein gehemmtes/eingestelltes Wachstum. Der gelöste Sauerstoff wird mit der DO-Elektrode gemessen ("Dissolved Oxygen", gelöster Sauerstoff).

Leitfähigkeit

Mittels Leitfähigkeitsmessungen mit der EC-Elektrode ("Electrical Conductivity", Leitfähigkeit) können wir den Salzgehalt in den Becken überprüfen. Spirulina, sowie andere (Mikro)organismen, haben ein bevorzugtes Milieu, in dem sie wachsen. Durch Zugabe von Düngemitteln wird das entsprechende Milieu erzeugt und stetig überprüft.

pH-Wert

Salze sind nicht nur relevante Nährstoffe für die (Mikro)organismen, sondern verändern auch den pH-Wert des Wassers. Dieser ist ebenfalls entscheidend für das Wachstum. Manche (Mikro)organismen wie Spriulina bevorzugen ein alkalisches Milieu (pH-Wert 9-11), wohingegen andere in einem sauren Milieu (pH-Wert <7) wachsen. Der pH-Wert wird mit der pH-Elektrode gemessen.

Elektronik

Solarpanel

Solarpanel

Schwimmkörper

Schwimmkörper

EC Elektrode

DO Elektrode

pH Elektrode

OD Sensor

OD Sensor

Die Technik

Der Sensor wiegt in etwa 500g und wird mit Lithium-Akkus betrieben, die über Solarpanele wieder aufgeladen werden. Diese innovative Stromversorgung gewährleistet eine kontinuierliche Energieversorgung. Bei unserem Sensor handelt es sich um eine IoT („Internet of Things“) -Multisensorplattform. Das ermöglicht uns einen Datenaustausch zwischen dem Sensor und unseren Servern, sofern WLAN vorhanden ist.

Im Januar 2023 waren wir zu Gast bei unserem Partner Viride in der Westsahara. Dort haben wir den Sensor zum ersten Mal für längere Zeit in einem Algenbecken getestet! Mehr dazu erfahrt ihr im zugehörigen Blogartikel.

Unser Technikteam ist motiviert, den Sensor konstant weiterzuentwickeln.
Wer noch mehr (technische) Details über unseren Sensor erfahren möchte kann sich gerne mit unserem Technikteam in Verbindung setzen!

Platine

Batteriehalter

µController & WiFi Modul

OD-Sensoren Anschluss

EC-Sensor Anschluss

pH-Sensor Anschluss

DO-Sensor Anschluss

IMG_0384
IMG_0286
IMG_0257