Spirulina

Give a man a spirulina and you feed him for a day. Teach a man how to grow spirulina and the man feeds his village every day.

The algea

Our aim: Fight malnutrition in Kenya. Our goal: Spirulina, a microalgae and a superfood. It contains all essential vitamins, a lot of proteins and energy. Spirulina contains, for instance, 6x more proteins than eggs! Small amounts are enough to prevent malnutrition. In addition to its excellent nutrient profile, the microalgae has another advantage: The algea even grows under extreme conditions.Its natural habitat are alkaline salt lakes (pH 9-11), in whichiteven grows at temperatures above 40 °C. That makes it the perfect cultivation product for regions, whereextreme heat and drought periods make conventional agriculture impossible.One of these regions, for example, is Kenya’s north, where starvation and malnutrition are a big problem, even today.

Spirulina Ernte Tablett Nahaufnahme
Spirulina Mikroskop
Spirulinatrocknung Solarkocher
Spirulina Cup

Cultivation

The cultivation of Spirulina is carried out in specially made, space-saving breeding tanks. Remarkable are thedaily harvest, high yields and a low water consumption. And that’s not all- the sppirulina cultivationdoes not only require few ressources, it’s also climate friendly: The microalgea binds 14x more CO2 than the respective area of rain forest.With that, the superfood spirulina is the best weapon against starvation and malnutrition!

Possible applications

However, the algea is not only important for us: Wether as powder or as pills, the usage of spirulina as nutritional supplement is nowadays a widespread habit. But what exactly is hidden behind the new superfood?

Spirulina is a microalgea and, therefore, is not classified as a plant. Just as plants, it needs sunlight to grow. One speciality: Besides the green chlorophyll spirulina uses also the bluish phycocyanin for photosynthesis, which is why it is also called “Blue algea“ or “cyanobakteria. Moreover, the name spirulinacomes from its optical appearance: A glance through the microscope namely reveals, that the tiny organism (0.3mm) is built in a helical structure.

Another difference to plants is that the microalgea grow much faster and can bind up to 50x more CO2.. Thus, the superfood plays an important role in the regulation of our biosphere and in climate protection.

Spirulina has existed for over 3.5 billion years, making it one of the oldest organisms in existence.. Historical records show that the bacterium was already present in Central Africa and Central America in the 9th century. . It is said that, at times of the Aztecs, the dried algea masses have already been processed to cakes. Also in Africa, for example near Lake Chad, inhabitants have harvested the algea for generations. And not only for humans, but also foranimals surves spirulina as food source: Flamingos in Africa also feed on the algae and scientists assume that the high percentage on beta carotene in spirulina causes the pinkish colour of the flamingo feathers. Nowadays, spirulina is known as superfood and nutritional supplement. The alga is one of the few vegan sources of vitamin B12, which plays an important role in blood formation as well as for the nervous system.

Due to its excellent nutritional profile, we started to grow spirulina in Kenya in 2016.Our on site ponds enable the village people to have constant access to spirulina and, therefore, to a healthier life.

Spirulina Becken Ernte Jens Partner Nariokotome
Getrocknetes Spirulina
Spirulina Verpackung
Kind trinkt Spirulina

Spirulina

Give a man a spirulina and you feed him for a day. Teach a man how to grow spirulina and the man feeds his village every day.

Die Alge

Unser Ziel: Die Bekämpfung der Mangelernährung in Kenia. Unsere Lösung: Spirulina, eine Mikroalge und ein Superfood. Sie enthält alle lebenswichtigen Vitamine, viele Proteine und Energie. Spirulina enthält beispielsweise 6x mehr Proteine als Eier! Bereits geringe Mengen reichen aus, um Mangelernährung zu verhindern. Neben ihrem hervorragenden Nährstoffprofil hat die Mikroalge noch einen weiteren Vorteil: Sie wächst selbst unter extremsten Bedingungen. Ihr natürlicher Lebensraum sind alkalische Salzseen (pH 9-11), in denen sie sogar bei Temperaturen von über 40 °C wachsen kann. Das macht sie zum idealen Anbauprodukt für Regionen, in denen extreme Hitze- und Dürreperioden herkömmlichen Ackerbau unmöglich machen. Zu diesen Regionen gehört beispielsweise der Norden Kenias, wo Hunger und Unterernährung noch heute ein großes Problem sind. 

Spirulina Ernte Tablett Nahaufnahme
Spirulina Mikroskop
Spirulinatrocknung Solarkocher
Spirulina Cup

Der Anbau

Die Kultivierung von Spirulina erfolgt in eigens dafür angefertigten, platzsparenden Zuchtbecken. Bemerkenswert sind die tägliche Ernte, hohe Erträge und ein geringer Wasserverbrauch. Und damit nicht genug – die Spirulinazucht verbraucht nicht nur wenige Ressourcen, sie ist auch klimafreundlich: Die Mikroalge bindet 14x mehr CO2 als die entsprechende Fläche an RegenwaldDamit ist das Superfood Spirulina die beste Waffe im Kampf gegen Hunger und Mangelernährung! 

Die Einsatzmöglichkeiten

Doch nicht nur für uns ist die Alge von großer Bedeutung: Ob als Pulver oder in Tablettenform, die Verwendung von Spirulina als Nahrungsergänzungsmittel ist mittlerweile weit verbreitet. Doch was genau verbirgt sich hinter dem neuen Superfood? 

Spirulina ist eine Mikroalge und wird daher nicht als Pflanze klassifiziert. Zum Wachsen benötigt sie jedoch, genau wie Pflanzen, das Sonnenlicht. Eine Besonderheit: Neben dem grünen Chlorophyll nutzt Spirulina auch das bläuliche Phycocyanin zur Photosynthese, daher wird es auch als „Blaualge“ oder „Cyanobakterium bezeichnet. Auch der Name Spirulina leitet sich von dessen optischer Erscheinung ab: Der winzige Organismus (0,3mm) ist nämlich spiralförmig aufgebaut, wie ein Blick unters Mikroskop offenbart. 

Ein weiterer Unterschied zu Pflanzen ist, dass Mikroalgen deutlich schneller wachsen und bis zu 50x mehr CO2 binden können. Die Mikroalge spielt somit eine wichtige Rolle bei der Regulation unserer Biosphäre und beim Klimaschutz. 

Spirulina existiert bereits seit über 3,5 Milliarden Jahren  und gehört damit zu den ältesten Organismen überhaupt. Historische Aufzeichnungen zeigen, dass das Bakterium bereits im 9. Jahrhundert in Zentralafrika und -amerika  konsumiert wurde. Zu Zeiten der Azteken soll die getrocknete Algenmasse schon zu Kuchen verarbeitet worden sein. Auch in Afrika, beispielsweise nahe des Tschadsees, ernten die Bewohner die Alge seit Generationen. Und nicht nur den Menschen, auch den Tieren dient Spirulina als Nahrungsquelle: Flamingos in Afrika ernähren sich ebenfalls von der Alge und Forscher vermuten, dass der hohe Anteil an Beta Carotin in Spirulina für die pinke Farbe des Flamingogefieders verantwortlich sei. Heutzutage wird Spirulina als Superfood bezeichnet und als Nahrungsergänzungsmittel eingesetzt. Die Alge ist eine der wenigen veganen Quellen für Vitamin B12, das eine wichtige Rolle in der Blutbildung sowie für das Nervensystem spielt.

Wegen ihres exzellenten Nährstoffprofils haben wir 2016 begonnen, Spirulina in Kenia anzubauenUnsere vor Ort errichteten Becken ermöglichen der Dorfbevölkerung den regelmäßigen Zugang zu Spirulina und damit ein gesünderes Leben. 

Spirulina Becken Ernte Jens Partner Nariokotome
Getrocknetes Spirulina
Spirulina Verpackung
Kind trinkt Spirulina